Awards of Excellence Program

The Alumni Association's Awards of Excellence program includes several annual awards. The program recognizes achievements of alumni, faculty, staff, students and friends by presenting awards to those who have made significant contributions to the Laurier community.
Deadline: Monday, Feb. 22, 2016

Questions? Contact Andrea Friesen at or 519-884-0710 ext. 3180.

Back to WLUAA Awards>

Alumni Awards of Excellence Program 


Congratulations to the following 2015 candidates:

Alumnus of the Year Andy Macaulay '80
Young Alumnus of the Year Paul Maxwell '07
Honorary Alumnus N/A
Schaus Award for Staff Emmy Misser
Hoffmann-Little Award for Faculty N/A
Faculty Mentoring Award Dr. Hind Al-Abadleh
Student Alumnus of the Year Victoria Gee








Alumnus/Alumna of the Year

The Alumnus/Alumna of the Year Award is given for outstanding achievement by a Laurier graduate. It is granted to individuals who bring honour to Wilfrid Laurier University, and recognizes a variety of attributes.



Young Alumnus/Alumna of the Year

The Young Alumnus/Alumna of the Year Award is given to recognize outstanding achievement by an alumnus/a of any Laurier program and who is 35 years of age or under.



Honorary Alumnus/Alumna

The designation of Honorary Alumnus/Alumna is granted to individuals who have brought honour to Laurier and its community of alumni, students, faculty, and staff through significant, and often selfless, contributions to Laurier, and/or the local, provincial, national or international communities. The candidates cannot be regular alumni of Wilfrid Laurier University.



Schaus Award for Staff

The Schaus Award is presented to a member of Laurier's staff in recognition of outstanding contribution to the Laurier community. The winner will be distinguished by service to Laurier and the community at large. All current or former staff are eligible for the Schaus Award.



Hoffmann-Little Award for Faculty

The Hoffmann-Little Award is presented to a Laurier faculty member in recognition of excellence in teaching and professional endeavor. All current or former faculty are eligible for the Hoffmann-Little Award.



Faculty Mentoring Award

The Faculty Mentoring Award recognizes a faculty member for his/her outstanding mentorship and support to undergraduate student(s) and/or graduate student(s) while the student(s) are completing independent research as part of their degree requirements.



Student Alumnus/Alumna of the Year

This award, provided annually by the Alumni Association, acknowledges the outstanding achievements of a student forwarding the objectives of the Alumni Association through his/her work with the Student Alumni Association.